cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Original topic:

Before selling the phone

(Topic created on: 02-23-2024 03:38 AM)
176 Views
Raziqp
Active Level 1
Options
Galaxy S
Hi, What's the best way to remove all data before selling phone? Is shreddit a good app to use before performing factory reset? Also uninstalling secure folder will be enough to remove all data or do i need to install shreddit there as well? Using S21 Ulta
13 Comments
aakashnawab7
Active Level 10
Galaxy S
Go into settings > accounts, remove all accounts one by one. Specially Google account. Then reset your device.

It will delete all data.
0 Likes
Raziqp
Active Level 1
Galaxy S
My nephew once factory reset mobile accidentally, and all data was still recovered by mobile shop
That's why I'm asking, how to make sure that data can't be recovered
0 Likes
RANA_NAJAM
Active Level 6
Galaxy S
There is only one method.
Try any software or hard reset etc your data will restored.
1st reset the phone. Than completely full the storage memory with something like any picture or different files that's you don't care if they restored.

In file system like windows FAT32 or NTFS etc all storage memories working at file system when we reset any device (mobile, memory card, USB) only addresses of main files are delete and main file or picture still exist in the table. Even storage shows nothing..

Even main file have addresses in the table and when we reset or delete only addresses delete.

In simple words, overwrite the full storage. After that if someone try to restore the data he/she only get the files that you overwrite.
That's the only solution.
0 Likes
Raziqp
Active Level 1
Galaxy S
Is Shreddit good app to overwrite?
0 Likes
RANA_NAJAM
Active Level 6
Galaxy S
Never use that app so I don't sure about it.1708689606344.jpg
0 Likes
Raziqp
Active Level 1
Galaxy S
Thanks for your response
RANA_NAJAM
Active Level 6
Galaxy S
Always welcome sir.
0 Likes
RANA_NAJAM
Active Level 6
Galaxy S
But one thing for sure overwritten data cannot be restored. Use any thing to overwrite. Even fill up the free space. Your data never restored. Than you can easily sell your any device.
0 Likes
Raziqp
Active Level 1
Galaxy S
What about secure folder, do i just need to uninstall it, or overwrite there as well?
0 Likes